Don’t to forget to vote for Tommie Beugelsdijk as community player of the year

Tom Beugelsdijk has been nominated for the title ‘Eredivisie Community Player of 2017’. This award is awarded annually by the Eredivisie and the VriendLoterij to a player who has dedicated himself to his local community in a special way. Also Sergio Padt (FC Groningen) and Morten Thorsby (SC Heerenveen) have been nominated.

In the coming weeks, the public plays an important role in the choosing the winner. You can vote for Tommie up until Wednesday 16th August 2017, everyone can vote here for his or her favorite. The winner will be announced on Monday 21st August, during the Gala Football Player of the Year.

In addition to a trophy, the player receives a €50,000 cheque awarded by VriendLoterij. Half of this amount goes to the club’s social activities, the other €25,000 the winner can give to charities of his choice.

With the award, the Eredivisie and VriendLoterij want to emphasize the social importance of football. Previously, Giovanni van Bronckhorst (2011), Tim Gilissen (2012), Siem de Jong (2013), Deniz Türüç (2014), Jeroen Zoet (2015) and Nathan Rutjes (2016) were named community Players of the Eredivisie.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *