ADO v Willem II

This was the last home game of 2015 before the winter break and after a week of bad financial forecast for our club, the attention thankfully returned to the football playing side of things. After last week’s great win at AZ, the prospect of taking on Willem II of Tilburg was a mouth watering prospect as the collection of three points looked easily within the clubs grasp.

ADO played some high energy pressing of the ball, not allowing the visitors to settle. The wind was a major problem in the stadium, causing a few heart stopping momwnta for both keepers.

In the thirty third minute ADO’s pressuring finally paid off. From inside their own half, ADO forced the team from Tilburg back. They got into their faces, making it difficult for Willem II to go forward. As a result of this ADO stole the ball and had to be stopped with a foul. The free-kick was taken quickly, Edouard Duplan raced forward, played the ball inside to Kevin Jansen. The ball was hit hard and low, deflected off a defender before hitting the back of the net, 1-0.

That was pretty much all the action from the first half according to the TV, as unfortunately was not able to make this game for once. So apologises for the lack of detail.

In the fifty fourth minute Willem II were awarded a very dubious penalty kick, which also resulted in a red card for Dion Malone who was judged to have brought down Lucas Andersen. The spot kick was converted by Nick van der Velden, but only just, as Martin Hansen managed to get both hands to the ball, but the power beat him to make it 1-1.

The rest of the game saw no real excitement, both sides broke forward at times, but the finishes were weak and were not troubling either keeper at all. So the result was 1-1, yet another draw for ADO. The big talking points after the game was the performance of referee Allard Lindhout. His decision to send off Malone was very harsh, he missed a handball inside the Willem II area and also didn’t show a second yellow card to a Tilburg players after fouling Danny Bakker.

ADO Team: Hansen, Malone, Wormgoor, Beugelsdijk, Meijers, Jansen, Derijck, Bakker, Schaken, Korte, Duplan

Attendance: 11,073